A-Z Challenge

U is for Unicorn (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

If you caught my T is for Traveler and J is for Journey posts  you will likely understand that I am fascinated with Fairy Tale Vacations. (In fact, I am planing a beach adventure for this summer’s get-away to the beautiful Texas coastline rich with pirate history.) One such fantastical fairy tale destination on my bucket list is the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. I dream of wander through the botanicals taking photos and notes to inspire future locations for books not yet written and stories not yet told.

plant-sculptures-imaginary-worlds-atlanta-botanical-garden-14

plant-sculptures-imaginary-worlds-atlanta-botanical-garden-5plant-sculptures-imaginary-worlds-atlanta-botanical-garden-10

Along with the massive living sculptures scattered throughout the property there’s a plethora of art. Real art. I will leave you with my two favorite pieces, by two of my favorite artists.

Dale Chihuly’s Parterre Fountain Installation is a one-of-a-kind sculpture in blue and white, interpreting shapes and colors of water, ice and sky. A captivating assemblage of twisting, brightly colored glass.

Paul Popple’s 8-foot marble sculpture is an organic yet static piece. Stillness and Growth was sculpted on site during the 1980s.

11 thoughts on “U is for Unicorn (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

    • Lisa, I am sure they switch their topiaries out. I know they do here at the Dallas Arboretum. They did an Alice in Wonderland theme not too long ago that
      was amazing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

