A-Z Challenge

G is for Gnome (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

Gnomes are little Earth dwelling spirits rooted in Renaissance magic. I am just going to go ahead and say it, gnomes creep me out. The thought of little humanoid creatures running a muck in my backyard is nightmarish at best. I see garden gnomes in yards alongside white picket fences and in home improvement centers scattered among the begonias. I just don’t get it. How is inviting mischievous little people to hide and burrow in your yard an improvement?  J.K. Rowling got it right in the Harry Potter series exposing gnomes for what they are; pests that inhabit the gardens of witches and wizards. No thank you! I am going to pass.

9 thoughts on “G is for Gnome (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

  1. I don’t think we ever had garden gnomes when I was growing up in England. Their use is probably rooted in folklore, perhaps the belief that they ward off evil spirits from your garden. I guess they became redundant after the advent of pesticides… 🙂

    Like

    • As folklore would have it, it is believed they awake at night and work in your garden as a sort of indentured servant thus causing the garden gnome liberation movement. (Rolling eyes.)

      Like

  2. Hahaha…I don’t think we ever had any gnomes. What if they were good and helped you take care of your garden, that would be cool! I’d like little helpers, especially if they scared away snakes and rats…and stuff I don’t like! lol!

    Like

  3. Yay Scarlett! Thanks for saying it for me. I’ve *never* understood the English thing with gnomes and still don’t. I know some consider it to be ironic cool, but no ……

    Like

Leave a Reply

