A-Z Challenge

E is for Efteling (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

Do you want to now a secret? I have always wanted to create, own, and operate  my very own story book land. Yes. I know. Most little girls just want a puppy, or a pink tutu. I wanted a theme park.  I envisioned my park somewhere along route 66 tucked between the tee-pee motels and the giant tea pot shaped restaurant. I recently discovered Efteling Theme Park located in the Netherlands and am beside myself with envy. Efteling Park boasts …

Glide through the enchanting world of fairies and trolls in the dark ride ‘Droomvlucht’ and huddle together during the exciting spectacular park show ‘Raveleijn’. The little ones listen to the sounds of the Fairytale Forest and party together with Jokie in ‘Carnaval Festival’. The real daredevils test their bravery in more extreme attractions such as the wooden roller coaster ‘Joris en de Draak’ and the mysterious ghost ship the ‘Vliegende Hollander’. After a fantastic day at Efteling, the whole family can enjoy the biggest watershow in Europe, Aquanura.

Fairytale Tree

He has been deeply rooted in the Fairytale Forest for years and knows exactly what the Inhabitants of the Fairytale Forest get up to…

Sprookjesboom

Rapunzel

There were once a man and a woman who lived next door to an old witch. The woman was expecting a baby and had an enormous craving for an edible root called rapunzel.

Raponsje_1129x311

The Little Match Girl

It was New Year’s Eve and bitterly cold. Snow was falling and the light was starting to fade. A poor little girl walked along the street, bareheaded and barefoot.

meisje_met_de_zwavelstokjes_attracties

Rumpelstiltskin

There was once a poor miller. His wife had died but he had a sweet, kind daughter. The miller’s greatest wish was that his daughter should no longer live in poverty.

repelsteeltje_attractie_efteling

Tom Thumb

There was once a woodcutter who had a wife and seven sons. The youngest of the seven children was very small. He was no bigger than a thumb and was, therefore, called Tom Thumb.

klein_duimpje_attractiesThe list of attractions and rides at Efteling Park goes on and on including Snow White, Red Riding Hood, Cinderella, The Troll King and more.

So, rather than forcing my future self to look back with unfulfilled dreams and regret, I have made a decision. I am going to create a  story book land in my own backyard. Just for me. Why not?

8 thoughts on “E is for Efteling (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

  1. Oh Scarlett, i love this! When you build your own, i will be there! LOL i grew up in Richmond, Virginia, and when I was a child, there was a park called “The Enchanted Forest” up near Washington, DC. We went there several times, and i loved it with a passion. We could run along a path from display to display, where we saw fairy tales come alive! I remember the witch’s candy house where you’d find Hanzel and Grettle among others! Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh thank you for letting me know about the Enchanted Forest. I will certainly google it for inspiration. I went to Never Never land once in Tacoma Washington way back when. It did not have rides. It was more of a storybook stroll. It’s long since gone now. 😦

      Like

  2. If you can dream it, you can do it. A Fairy Tale theme park in one’s backyard may raise the eyebrow of the local building commission bureaucrats, but they simply lack in imagination!

    Jeff Beesler
    Jeffrey Beesler’s World of the Scribe
    #791

    Like

    • I remember visiting Never Never Land park in Tacoma Washington as a child. That’s what first sparked my interest. I have read Never Never Land is 95% gone. It has uccumbed to vandalism and forest entropy. 😦

      Like

    • Thank you. I seem to be a day behind. Who would have guessed one little issue like a kitten rescue would cause such topsy turvy chaos?

      Like

Leave a Reply

