A-Z Challenge

C is for Castle (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

Although a bit cliché’, there’s a certain expectation that fantasies and fairy tales include a castle. Cinderella, Snow White, The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast, and Shrek all have one.  Dracula,  The Highlander, Indiana Jones, Lord of the Rings, and The Nightmare Before Christmas do too. I have always been a less is more, minimalist kinda girl, but after virtually vacationing at hundreds of  castles via pinterest, I fell in love with so many. They have all stood the test of time. Generation after generation. King after king. War after blood war. Marriages. Births. Deaths. Murders. If only walls could talk.

Bodiam Castle, East Sussex, England

{Wow! Look at that  mote!}

Built in 1385, Bodiam Castle in East Sussex, England, is a perfect example of a late medieval moated castle.

Neuschwanstein, Germany

Schloss_Neuschwanstein_im_Winter

Lichtenstein Castle, Baden-Wurttemburg, Germany

{The Cinderellas Castle.}

 Alcazar de Segovia, Spain

alcazar-castle-of-segovia-spain

Swallows Nest Sea Castle, Crimea

{I am a such a sucker for an ocean view!}

Swallows Nest Sea Castle, Crimea

Bran Castle, Transylvania, Romania

{Count Dracula’s Castle}

Perusing  castles from around the world has given me a whole new respect for  the dimension they can add to tales offering architecture, history, and tradition. Both the Swallow’s Nest Sea Castle, and Dracula’s have my head spinning with what-ifs.

My whole life I have been haunted by photos. They speak to me. Not in words, but in glimpses of things that might have been, or could still be.  What-ifs.  What-ifs are story fragments my head beckons my hands to write down. And so it begins.

12 thoughts on “C is for Castle (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

  1. Your castles are gorgeous – no wonder you find these photos inspirational. I’d never considered using images as inspiration – so thank you, that’s been a real help to me.

    Like

    • Thank you. My favorite professor when I was in college requires us to find a photo on the internet and write a short story to go with it. That was when I discovered what inspiration a photo could bring.

      Like

  2. These are wonderful looking castles. I suppose we stopped using them in favor of military bases. It would be interesting if we still used them in modern warfare. 🙂

    Like

    • So that is why so many castles are built on cliffs. They are easier to defend with just 1 point of entry. Very strategic indeed.

      Like

  3. I love the romance and beauty of castles, try not to think of the battles… Of course, their is that ugly word–“reality”– i much prefer my fairy tales with castles and happy endings! Thanks for this.helen

    Like

    • I agree, Helen. Fairy tales need happy endings. It’s what makes them fairy tales. I do not think the Brothers Grimm would agree with us though.

      “There is no real [happy] ending. It’s just the place where you stop the story.”
      ― Frank Herbert

      Like

  4. I’ve always been fascinated by castles. I’d love to see them in real life, not sure if I would want to live in one though. But, if someone gave me one, I wouldn’t say no! I would love to explore it, look for secret passageways and hidden rooms, that would be cool! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

