A-Z Challenge

A is for Adventure! (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

A is for Adventure: an exciting or remarkable experience. I am embarking upon a new adventure scheduled to last the entire month of April. I have accepted the Blogging from A-Z Challenge. You see, I began this blog over a month ago and here it sits. Empty.

I am having trouble deciding what direction to take it in. I want to write about everything and don’t know where to start creating a bit of a conundrum. (Rats! I should have saved the word Conundrum for my C day.) Because I want to write about everything, I can’t seem to write about anything. If I have learned nothing else about myself over the years it’s that I work better when deadlines are attached, thus, the adventure. Upon accepting the Blogging from A-Z Challenge I agreed to write and publish a post each and every day during the month of April; with Sundays off for good behavior. I am blogging through the alphabet with nearly 2,000 other adventurous souls. The plan was to have a dozen or so posts written up ahead of time so I could plug them in as needed on days when time eludes me. (Didn’t happen.)

Looks like I am pantsing this one. (That’s fancy writer jargon for flying-by-the-seat-of-your-pants.) That’s how I like my adventures though. I prefer wandering over itineraries any day. I do have a sort-of-a-kinda-like theme though.  I plan to explore elements frequently found in YA fantasy and fairy tales. Tune in tomorrow when B will be for…err… something…or the other. Pinky-swear.

15 thoughts on “A is for Adventure! (Fairy Tale Spotlight A-Z)

  1. Like you, I work better with deadlines and structure. I took a freestyle approach to this challenge last year (my first) and it was a tad more hectic than I would have liked! Enjoyable and worthwhile, don’t get me wrong, but I have everything mapped out this year! I look forward to reading your posts throughout the challenge! 🙂

    Like

  2. It’s my first time doing this challenge too. It’s helpful to know that every day people are expecting me to deliver. Otherwise, I’d stop halfway through the challenge, I’m sure. Deadlines are awesome. Best of luck in April!:)

    Like

  3. Thanks for peeking at my blog! This is my first time with the challenge, as well, and I’m definitely learning what works and what doesn’t work for me at an early stage, ha! Best of luck to you and I’m excited to see what you have to offer! 🙂

    Like

  4. I had hoped to have all the flash stories for my A-to-Z challenge written before April 1–didn’t happen. I’ve written most of them, though. But there’s something about the pressure to get it done that does help a bit. I’m a bit of a pantser, though I like a plan, and some sort of idea where I’m going too. 🙂

    Like

    • You are one smart cookie being prepared. I like to balance some planning with making it up as a I go along. It’s a fine line. I paint Christmas windows in my community most years and approach it in the same fashion. I go into it with an idea like elves and presents, angles and instruments, penguins and sleds, etc. But I always say the picture comes out of my brush. I just start painting and it creates itself as if my brush has a mind of it’s own. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Leave a Reply

